The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo

The Book Jacket Says … 

Despite constant efforts to declutter your home, do papers still accumulate like snowdrifts and clothes pile up like a tangled mess of noodles?
Japanese cleaning consultant Marie Kondo takes tidying to a whole new level, promising that if you properly simplify and organize your home once, you’ll never have to do it again. Most methods advocate a room-by-room or little-by-little approach, which doom you to pick away at your piles of stuff forever. The KonMari Method, with its revolutionary category-by-category system, leads to lasting results. In fact, none of Kondo’s clients have lapsed (and she still has a three-month waiting list).
With detailed guidance for determining which items in your house “spark joy” (and which don’t), this international best seller featuring Tokyo’s newest lifestyle phenomenon will help you clear your clutter and enjoy the unique magic of a tidy home – and the calm, motivated mindset it can inspire.

My thoughts …

OMG … I fell in love with this book!!!  Yes, it is hokey, no, I will never ask my underwear if they bring me joy, but this book spoke to me!

I read it during a plane ride, and as I went through each chapter, I was visualizing various parts of my apartment and thinking “Yes, I can get rid of this, that, this, this and that”.  And do you know what, I came home and I started getting rid of stuff.

I’ve got a lot of “stuff” … things that I haven’t looked at since I bought it.  Things that I didn’t even remember buying!  It explains where a lot of my income went!!

I’m in the process, of tossing, donating, and yes even trying to sell some things (I might as well make a few dollars!!)

It’s liberating.  I never thought I would say that about getting rid of things, but it truly is!!

One thing I was happy to read, was that Marie’s clients generally take 6 months to finish.  that relieved me … I was picturing a weekend clear out, which would be tough … I hang on to a lot of things for a variety of reasons … mainly though because I’m afraid of forgetting.  My apartment may not ever be Marie Kondo perfect … but I will get it to a point where it will make me happy.

xx
 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

